‘We Love Christian Music Awards’ Features Independent Artists, President Donald Trump and Dr. Alveda King


Recently, winners in 24 categories were announced at a 2-hour live “We Love Christian Music Awards” sponsored by New Release Today and Visible Music College in Memphis, Tennessee.

Dr. Alveda King receives the Unity Award from Jeff Allen at the ‘We Love Christian Music Awards’. Image by Josiah Weiss

Phil Wickham walked away as the big winner of the night as fans honored his latest release, ‘Hymn of Heaven’ as Album of the Year and Worship Album of the Year and ‘House of the Lord’. as Worship Song of the Year and Song of the Year.

“It’s a special album for me,” Phil said in his acceptance speech. “Every song was just written to preach to my own soul who I am in him and how great Jesus is. It’s amazing that this record does the same for other people too.

The show received a high media footprint, thanks in part to the participation of activist and author Dr. Alveda King, who appeared in person and accepted the Unity Award. She received the award in a special recorded message from her friend, President Donald J. Trump.

“Greetings to you at 10and The annual We Love Christian Music Awards, a special group of people,” President Trump said. “Tonight is very, very special for a different reason. We’re going to do the first Unity award. And he’s a person we all love, we all respect, Dr. Alveda King. It is an honor to be able to speak on his behalf. »

Reflecting on the award, Dr King said she was “honoured” and explained what the music meant to her and to the whole Christian world.

“Whenever I think of Christian music, it’s an opportunity to send Judah first,” she said. “It means singers, dancers and musicians, everyone involved in what we would call the music industry today, comes first, into the battle. And that can often confuse the enemy. God dwells in the praises of his people.

In addition to celebrating the night’s winners, there were 14 live and pre-recorded performances from several nominated artists and special guests, between sets by comedian Jeff Allen.

Kevin McNeese, founder of the awards and president of “New Release Today,” said the purpose of the awards was to showcase Christian music and provide opportunities for new artists.

“The object of this weekend is that we call it our ‘love letter to the industry,'” he said. we live off Christian music awards and, and that’s just our way of giving to artists who don’t usually get Dove awards or K-Love fan awards or necessarily on the radio Half of our artists are independent .

McNeese said being located at Visible Music College meant they “didn’t have to reinvent the wheel every year”, but gave them the opportunity to add more to each event.

“We’re adding a lot of stuff this year, but it’s all been fun,” he said. “Being able to talk about it with the mainstream media is new for us. We have been on many media sites, such as NewsMax and Fox Business Channel.

New artist Cade Thompson, who is currently working on his follow-up project on Red Street Records, performed at the ceremony and expressed his gratitude for the opportunity to preview new music and benefit from the community.

“I’m so grateful to Kevin and the whole team at New Release Today for believing in me and allowing me to be here and also be around some awesome artists. It’s been such a blast “, did he declare.

The full 2-hour show is now available to watch on demand on Facebook and YouTube, embedded below.


Hook Award (pop album of the year): Riley Clemmons Godsend

PopLITE Award (Contemporary Pop Album of the Year): Newsboys Stand

Inspo Award (Inspirational Album of the Year): MercyMe inspires (exhales)

Encounter Award (cult album of the year): Phil Wickham Hymn of Heaven

Chorus Award (Church Worship Album of the Year): Elevation Worship, Maverick City Music Old Church Basement

Hype Award (urban/rap album of the year): Andy Mineo Never Land II

Amp Award (Rock/Alternative Album of the Year): Boiling Point Hope Lives Here

Album of the Year: Phil Wickham’s Hymn of Heaven

Live Album of the Year: Michael W. Smith Worship Forever

EP of the Year: Rhett Walker Gospel Song EP

Song of the Year: Phil Wickham “House of the Lord”

Worship Song of the Year: Phil Wickham “House of the Lord”

Contemporary Song of the Year: Anne Wilson “My Jesus”

Pop Song of the Year: for KING & COUNTRY “Relate”

Dance/Remix Song of the Year: NEEDTOBREATHE feat. Carrie Underwood

Rock Song of the Year: The Letter Black “Born For This”

Rap/Hip-Hop Song of the Year: Social Club Misfits “Without You”

Music video of the year: for KING & COUNTRY “Relate”

Male Artist of the Year: Danny Gokey

Female Artist of the Year: Riley Clemmons

Band of the Year: Maverick City Music

New Artist/Group of the Year: Anne Wilson

The Next Big Thing: Grace Graber

Consumer Impact Award: Stove


About Author

Comments are closed.