The Next Generation Indie Film Awards celebrate the winners of 2022


Nicholas Bruckman, Director, Best Picture Overall, “Not Going Quietly”

Found the founders of the Next Generation Indie Film Awards

(L to R) Andrew Jenkins, Therese ‘Tag’ Goulet, Catherine Goulet, Calum Worthy – Indie Film Founders Awards

Next Generation Independent Film Awards Winner

Next Gen Indie Film Awards Laurel Logo

2nd Annual Ceremony, Hosted by Calum Worthy, Awards including $150,000 Service/Credits Grand Prize, Largest Prize in Indie Film Awards History

“Being able to honor the talented next generation of independent filmmakers makes this baby boomer very happy,” said awards co-founder Therese ‘Tag’ Goulet.

— Therese ‘Tag’ Goulet.

HOLLYWOOD, California, USA, June 23, 2022 / — The Next Generation Indie Film Awards handed out the highest honors at the second annual Indie Film Awards on June 18, 2022. The evening was led by returning host and co-founder, actor and comedian Calum Worthy. The 2022 awards ceremony was sold out at the Loews Hollywood Hotel in Los Angeles.

The event was marked by a special new award, the first-ever Luminary Award, which went to Oscar-nominated American filmmaker Rian Johnson. The award, the independent film organization’s highest honour, was graciously accepted by Mr Johnson who delivered his acceptance speech via pre-recorded video, giving words of encouragement to all the filmmakers in attendance. The event was also streamed live on Instagram.

The winner of this year’s top prize, Best Picture Overall, was introduced to “Not Going Quietly,” a powerful documentary directed by Nicholas Bruckman and produced by Amanda Roddy. The feature-length documentary is currently streaming on Hulu. The winner of the Best Overall Film award, along with a trophy, received a $150,000 prize which includes professional studio rental space in Los Angeles, production supplies and equipment, camera sets , post-production services (including writing, sound mixing, color grading, digital final mastering), private screening and an AFM (American Film Market) Executive Plus badge for AFM 2022. “Not Going Quietly” also won Best Documentary Feature.

The award for Best Narrative Feature went to “Definition Please”. Directed by Sujata Day and produced by Cameron Fife, Datari Turner, Ritesh Rajan and Sujata Day. The film is currently streaming on Netflix.

The Best Actor in a Feature Film award went to Cole Hauser for his role in “The Last Champion.” Based on a true story, the inspirational drama was directed by Glenn Withrow and is currently available on Apple TV, Amazon Prime, YouTube and Google Play Movies.

The award for best actress in a feature film went to Frances Fisher for her role in “This is Not a War Story”. Directed by Talia Lugacy, the drama is currently available on HBO Max.

Quinton Aaron (“The Blind Side”) joined host Calum Worthy onstage during the show to present the award for Best Supporting Actor in a Short Film to Fabian Jaray.

“Being able to honor the talented next generation of independent filmmakers makes this baby boomer very happy,” said awards co-founder Therese ‘Tag’ Goulet.

The awards show’s executive producer is Andrew Jenkins. The show’s producers include Aina Dumlao and Undercurrent Studios. Award categories include both feature and short films, as well as awards for Best Music Video, Web Series, Debut Filmmaker, LGBTQ+ Filmmaker Short, BIPOC Filmmaker, animation, student films and the best documentaries. For more information on the Next Generation Indie Film Awards:

A full list of all winners and award categories for the 2022 Next Generation Film Awards is available: HERE.

Attendees of the 2022 awards gala included nominees from around the world, program judges, honorees, industry partners and sponsors from major film companies who continue to generously support the year’s work of the Next Generation Indie Film Awards Foundation. round.

Thanks to the generosity of sponsors, the 2022 grand prize winner has won a prize worth over $150,000 in production credits and movie rentals to help the winner film their next project in Los Angeles. Prize packages include rental from Quixote and MBS Equipment Co., props from ISS Props, software from Final Draft, camera package from Keslow Camera, post-production services from Sugar Studios LA, special invitation at the 2022 American Film Market in-person event in Santa Monica, and more. The full list of prize sponsors is available on the website at Sponsors tab.

Formed in 2020, the inaugural Next Generation Indie Film Awards gala was held in Hollywood in 2021. launched in 2008.

The Next Generation Indie Film Awards Foundation evolved from the literary awards program when Catherine partnered with Andrew Jenkins and Therese ‘Tag’ Goulet to create a film awards program. Tag Goulet is a film producer and patron who has funded over 100 independent films by young filmmakers, including two from the Santa Monica College film program that screened at the Cannes Film Festival.

Andrew Jenkins is an award-winning actor and producer and an accomplished entrepreneur. Calum Worthy, a lifelong friend of Andrew’s since the two starred in a TV series together as teenagers, joined the trio as a founding member of the nonprofit in 2022.

Together, this multi-generational team of founders have a vested interest in the future of independent filmmaking and have created a global awards program that celebrates exceptional work and helps independent filmmakers break through. The annual galas are a place where filmmakers can forge critical connections with the industry and come together to celebrate with other nominees.

The Next Generation Indie Film Awards Foundation is a non-profit organization that supports filmmakers around the world through its annual awards and other programs throughout the year. They strive to support filmmakers at all stages of the filmmaking process by helping them reach an audience and aim to advance filmmakers’ careers through services, education and access to resources. The organization has provided financial support to more than 50 independent film projects since its inception.

Philip Nakov
city ​​rp
[email protected]
Visit us on social media:


About Author

Comments are closed.