Pedro the lion, big thief, etc.


Indie music has grown to include so many things. It’s not just music that comes out on independent labels, but speaks to an aesthetic that deviates from the norm and follows its own quirky heart. This can take the form of rock, pop or folk music. In a way, that says as much about the people who are drawn to it as it is about the people who make it.

Every week, Uproxx rounds up the best new indie music from the past seven days. This week we got a surprise new album from Pedro The Lion, another snippet from Big Thief’s upcoming album and a ton of album announcements from PUP, Hatchie, Girlpool and more. Check out the rest of the best new indie music below.

While we’re at it, sign up for our newsletter to get the best new indie music straight to your inbox, every Monday.

Pedro The Lion – havasu

With just hours notice, Pedro The Lion unveiled the deeply autobiographical new record last week. havasu, the result of several trips David Bazan made to Lake Havasu, Arizona, where he lived for a year. He mined the land in search of memories, creating stories and songs built around instruments he played entirely alone.

Anxious – little green house

One of the newest additions to Run For Cover Records’ storied roster, Connecticut’s Anxious have made a name for themselves over the past few years by striking the sonic and thematic balance between hardcore, emo and alternative ’90s. 90. After a series of impressive EPs, the quintet has finally unveiled their first full album which delivers on the promise of a rocking good time with infectious melodies and heavy instrumentals.

Silverbacks – Archival documents

The Silverbacks of Ireland are back with their second album, Archival documents. The new record is a great progression from the band’s debut album, Fashionwhich marked the band’s burst onto the scene when they were nominated for the Choice Prize, Ireland’s top music award, in 2019. The songs on Archival documents really stand out to showcase the instantly palpable group costs factor, which is just the icing on the cake of their talent for melody and song structure.

Elujay – Circumstances

When I spoke to Oakland artist Elujay earlier this year, he highlighted how love is factored into his process as an artist. On his first album Circumstances, Elujay taps into his Trinidadian roots for inspiration while incorporating elements of rock, funk, R&B, indie, hip-hop… and just about everything in between. The title of the album talks about “finding alternative paths to a constantly changing/deteriorating world; striving to find peace and comfort and new techniques to approach life,” Elujay explained in a statement.

Grand Thief – “Simulation Swarm”

Excitement mounts as Big Thief’s new double album, Dragon New Warm Mountain I believe in you, is approaching its release in early February. We’ve already heard plenty of tracks from the album and “Simulation Swarm” is the final single, which Derrick Rossignol describes for Uproxx as “an upbeat track anchored in a relaxing place by the idiosyncratic, smooth vocals of Adrianne Lenker”. .

PUP – “Robot writes a love song”

The puppies are back and they’re ready to rock. Canadian punks have announced their new album, The denouement of Puptheband, with a new single called “Robot Writes A Love Song”, which takes a more melodic and anthemic approach than we’re used to from the band. That said, “much like their previous releases, the new song addresses feelings of existential dread and despair, but this time through the lens of a grieving robot,” writes Carolyn Droke for Uproxx.

Camp Cope – “Running with the Hurricane”

It’s been a while since we’ve been part of the Australian trio Camp Cope. Since the release of 2018 How to socialize and make friendsGeorgia Maq released a slew of solo material, but now she’s returned to her bandmates for a new record. Run with the hurricane is preceded by its title track, a relatively subdued affair that exemplifies the band’s emotional and touching songwriting chops.

Uwade – “Do you see the light around me”

Uwade, 21, made a name for himself after being featured on Fleet Foxes’ 2020 album Bank. Now, the Nigerian-American artist has started releasing a series of new singles which are beginning to highlight her artistic vision. “Do You See The Light Around Me” was produced by Brad Cook (Snail Mail, Waxahatchee, Bon Iver, Hiss Golden Messenger) and is built on heart-pounding electronic beats and vocal layering.

Horse Band – “Lights”

After delaying the release of their seventh studio album, things are big, from January to March, indie rock veterans Band Of Horses shared another new single. “Lights” is a callback to the band’s sonic roots, and “beautifully blends loud guitar chords and moaning vocals to create an anthemic song that details an exceptionally bad night,” writes Carolyn Droke for Uproxx.

Alex Cameron – “Better Life”

A few years away from 2019 Miami Memory, Alex Cameron is back with a new record. Scheduled for March, our first taste of Oxy Music comes in the form of “Best Life”, a thoroughly enjoyable neo-lounge number featuring what Adrian Spinelli calls for Uproxx “Cameron’s signature leisure suit cabaret sound, which truly invites you to be you -same.”

Khruangbin + Leon Bridges – “Chocolate Hills”

Two years ago, Khruangbin teamed up with Leon Bridges for an unexpected yet thrilling collaborative EP called texas sun. Now the two parties have come together on another EP called texan moon. “Chocolate Hills” is a much slower, ultra-sweet serenade, “with sparse Khruangbin instrumentation that opens up space for Bridges’ vocals to fill the room,” writes Carolyn Droke for Uproxx.

Hatchie – “Quicksand”

A few months after announcing to the world that she had signed to Secretly Canadian, Hatchie announced her next album, give the world and shared the lead single “Quicksand”. Where previous Hatchie tracks were scintillating shoegaze numbers, “Quicksand” is an indie-pop track in its own right. “The beat of 80s dance floor synth stands out and Hatchie flexes her soaring voice as she pleads for joy to shine through uncertainty,” writes Adrian Spinelli for Uproxx.

Girlpool – “Lie Love Lullaby”

About a month ago, Girlpool came back from an extended hiatus with the release of a new song called “Faultline”. Ultimately, this track was an indicator of something much bigger from the duo, who announced their new album Forgivenesswhich is scheduled for April 29. The announcement came with “Lie Love Lullaby,” a brand new track that showcases the band’s new industrial mood to a heart-pounding beat.

Nilüfer Yanya – “Midnight Sun”

In just over a month, Nilüfer Yanya is set to release her second album, Painless. “Midnight Sun” is the effort’s second single, a calculated, slow-burning track that uses airy guitars and a temperate beat to keep the focus on Yanya’s ethereal, touching vocals.

Correct. – “Milk and Honey”

After making a name for themselves in the DIY/punk community, the trio from Brooklyn Proper. announced their signing with Father/Daughter + Big Scary Monsters, as well as their new album produced by Bartees Strange, The Great American Novel. The record is slated for March 25 and is premiered by “Milk And Honey,” a meditative and uplifting song about making the decision not to have children and realizing that you may not be able to. be unable to maintain the image your parents have of you.

Mom Jeans – “Graduate of Life”

On the fourth sample of their new album sweet tooth, Mom Jeans lays down the electric guitars for a moment to indulge in the contemplation of an acoustic ballad. “Graduating Life” is a beautiful moment of vulnerability in which the band begs to take a break from life so they can spend eternity with those they love.


About Author

Comments are closed.