Mitsky, Jack White, etc.


Indie music has grown to include so many things. It’s not just music that comes out on independent labels, but speaks to an aesthetic that deviates from the norm and follows its own quirky heart. This can take the form of rock, pop or folk music. In a way, that says as much about the people who are drawn to it as it is about the people who make it.

Every week, Uproxx rounds up the best new indie music from the past seven days. This week we got another sneak peek at Mitski’s highly anticipated new album, the announcement of a new Fontaines DC album and a new track from Jack White. Check out the rest of the best new indie music below.

While we’re at it, sign up for our newsletter to get the best new indie music straight to your inbox, every Monday.

Grace Cummings– queen of storms

After conquering the Australian theater scene as an actress, Grace Cummings is ready to leave her mark as a songwriter on her self-produced second album, queen of storms. The album showcases Cummings’ raw songwriting and captivating vocal performances by minimizing the number of studio takes and reinforcing imperfection to elevate the tracks’ relatability.

Cat power – Blankets

22 years after its release The cover discCat Power is back with another collection of renditions of her favorite songs. Blankets features Power’s versions of tracks from across the musical spectrum, ranging from modern classics like Frank Ocean’s “Bad Religion” and Lana Del Rey’s “White Mustang” to… classic classics like “I’ll See You” by Billie Holiday.

Mitski – “Love Me More”

The latest preview of Mitski’s highly anticipated new album Laurel Hell is also one of the most pop titles of the independent star. “Love Me More” is what Derrick Rossignol calls for Uproxx a “dramatic and energetic” number that reveals the full range of emotions we can feel during the duration of a Mitski song. What begins as a relatively reserved and introspective affair quickly becomes a full-fledged synth-pop dance chorus.

Jack White – “Love is Selfish”

Jack White is set to release two new albums in 2022. We’ve already heard the upbeat “Taking Me Back,” reminiscent of his Dead Weather days. Now White has shared ‘Love Is Selfish,’ a softer acoustic song that sounds more like he did at the start. Blunderbuss solo work. If nothing else, it would seem that fear of dawn will once again showcase the full dynamic range of White’s songwriting, which is very exciting in itself.

DC Fountains – “Jackie Down The Line”

It’s been just under two years and about no gigs since the release of Fontaines DC’s second album. The death of a hero. The lack of touring, however, gave Irish post-punks space to work on new material and now the band are preparing their new album. Lean fia, which is expected in April. “Jackie Down The Line” is a moody track that sets the stage nicely for an album that’s a statement about staying true to your roots while expanding your horizons, which I talked about at length with the band’s guitarist Carlos O’Connell back in 2020.

Tears for Fears – “Break The Man”

It’s always fun when a legendary band returns and the music is legitimately great. Tears For Fears are set to release their first album in 17 years, and ‘Break The Man’ is a fine return to form for the British synth-pop duo and shows what we loved about them forty years ago. . Thematically, the track is about “a strong woman and breaking the patriarchy,” Curt Smith said in a statement.

Aldous Harding – “Lawn”

New Zealander Aldous Harding, whom Adrian Spinelli calls Uproxx “one of the few artists in our attention-deficit world who can silence an entire concert crowd in awe of his impeccable performances”, is about to release a new album titled Warm Chris March 25. The album’s lead single, “Lawn,” is a shimmering, polished track that showcases what makes Harding such a fascinating artist, while charting a beautiful path forward.

Kevin Devine – “Albatross”

Although Kevin Devine hasn’t released a full solo album since 2016 Instigator, he’s been more or less prolific through a variety of different projects over the years. Now he is set to release his tenth studio album, Nothing’s real, so nothing’s wrongMarch 25. The project is premiered by “Albatross,” a song about letting go and reframing your view of the world to fit the unnavigable reality we all live in.

Talker – “I don’t want you to love me”

We’ve had our eye on LA-based singer-songwriter Talker (real name Celeste Tauchar) since she began dropping a string of increasingly impressive singles. Now she is ready to unveil a new EP titled In fear of insignificanceand new single “Don’t Want You To Love Me” is a vintage-sounding alt-pop hit with a massive chorus that will stick in your head after the first listen.

String Machine – “January Tour”

Pittsburgh’s String Machine has a massive number of people playing instruments, which means the songs have incredible depth. Their latest single “Touring In January” is no exception, with horns and piano and enough vocal harmonies to get your brain going. The band’s next album, Hallelujah hell yeah not only has a great track, but will definitely mark a turning point for the band when it releases in February.

Silverbacks – “A Job Worth Doing”

With their new record Archival documents due out later this month, Irish post-punkers Silverbacks have shared the latest single in the form of “A Job Worth Something”. The new offering is what Adrian Spinelli calls for Uproxx “an introspective look at the roles that matter most in our society, and it’s presented with rad guitars and driving beats.”

Anais Mitchell – “On Your Way (Felix Song)”

After teaming up with Justin Vernon and Aaron Dessner on last year’s Big Red Machine album, Anais Mitchell is preparing her first new solo album in over a decade. “On Your Way (Felix Song)” is an ode to a lost friend and showcases the best of Mitchell’s Americana songwriting and storytelling through sparse instrumentation and sharp lyrics.

Short Fiction – “Don’t Start a Band”

Three years after the release of his first album Fates worse than death, Pittsburgh emo outfit Short Fictions announced their signing to Lauren Records and shared a new song telling listeners to do the opposite of what they did by chasing the music. “Don’t Start A Band” is a catchy alt-rock track that focuses on songwriter Sam Treber’s socialist community issues, while highlighting the flaws of a capitalist music industry over riffs more and more complex guitar parts and even horn flourishes.

Some artists covered here are Warner Music artists. Uproxx is an independent subsidiary of Warner Music Group.


About Author

Comments are closed.