‘Love Stories’ wins 2022 Independent Book of the Year award


by Trent Dalton Love stories (Fourth Estate) was named Book of the Year at the 2022 Indie Book Awards.

The winning titles in each category are:


  • Once upon a time there were wolves (Charlotte McConaghy, Hamish Hamilton)


  • Love stories (Trent Dalton, Fourth Estate)

First fiction

  • The silent listener (Lyn Yeowart, Viking)

Illustrated non-fiction

  • Still life (Amber Creswell Bell, Thames and Hudson)


  • Rabbit, soldier, angel, thief (Katrina Nannestad, ABC Books)

young adult

  • The monster of his age (Danielle Binks, Lothian).

The winning titles were chosen by independent booksellers across the country, from shortlists announced in January. Each category winner receives $1,000, while the Book of the Year winner receives an additional $1,500.

Of his victory, Dalton said: “I am thrilled, amazed, humbled and deeply grateful. I had cheese ball tears when I heard the news. I was all sentimental about this beautiful recognition because this book means so much to me and because Australian independent booksellers mean everything to the Australian book industry.

“I sat in a corner for two months asking random strangers to tell me love stories, but with each passing day of each passing year, our independent booksellers are sharing love stories with their amazing customers through this sacred transaction of buying and selling these paper treasures we call books.. Thanks to the booksellers for this amazing price.

Presented by Leading Edge Books, the Indie Book Awards “recognize and celebrate independent booksellers as the foremost supporters of Australian authors”.

Last year’s Book of the Year winner was Pip Williams for her debut novel The dictionary of lost words (To assert). For more information, see the awards website.

Category: Awards Local News


About Author

Comments are closed.