Father John Misty, Waxahatchee and more


Indie music has grown to include so many things. It’s not just music that comes out on independent labels, but speaks to an aesthetic that deviates from the norm and follows its own quirky heart. This can take the form of rock, pop or folk music. In a way, that says as much about the people who are drawn to it as it is about the people who make it.

Every week, Uproxx rounds up the best new indie music from the past seven days. This week we got a taste of a new Father John Misty album, the first single from a Radiohead side project and the latest track from Gang Of Youths. Check out the rest of the best new indie music below.

While we’re at it, sign up for our newsletter to get the best new indie music straight to your inbox, every Monday.

Waxahatchee- El Deaf Soundtrack EP

Late last year, Waxahatchee (aka Katie Crutchfield) announced that she had written some new songs for the AppleTV+ adaptation of Cece Bell’s acclaimed 2014 graphic novel. El Deaf, a process she called in a statement “an amazing experience all around.” Now, Crutchfield’s original compositions for the series have been released by his label, Merge Records, as a five-track EP. They definitely sound like Waxahatchee songs, but with an added sense of levity that comes with composing an animated children’s show.

My dream fever – Rough And Beautiful Place EP

One of the sleeper hits of 2021 was To see the next part of the dream by the anonymous Korean musician Parannuul. Now, it looks like the same personality behind that record has shared another, under a different name. Where Parannoul’s music is a shoegaze-inspired indie affair, Mydreamfever’s new EP Rough and beautiful place is a more ambient experience, centered around piano and enveloping soundscapes.

Father John Misty – “Funny Girl”

After numerous cryptic teases on social media that resulted in unmarked vinyl being sent to fans, father John Misty has officially announced his new album. Chloë and the following 20th century and shared her first single. “Funny Girl” is described by Adrian Spinelli for Uproxx as “filled with FJM fantasy, with a retro ballroom vibe”.

The Smile – “You’ll Never Work on TV Again”

As Radiohead takes a break, Jonny Greenwood certainly hasn’t. He was a near-prolific film composer and is now back with a new project called The Smile, which he formed alongside Radiohead frontman Thom Yorke. The new group debuted during a livestream in May and they have now officially dropped their first official single. “You’ll Never Work on TV Again” is one of the simplest oscillate songs that the members of Radiohead have made in about 20 years, with “propelling drums [that] drive the song forward as Yorke’s musings melt into a wall of faded guitar riffs,” according to Carolyn Droke for Uproxx.

Gang of Youths – “In the Wake of Your Leave”

The awaited new album of Gang Of Youths real time angel is due next month, and the latest offering is one of the most comprehensive and exciting previews yet. ‘In The Wake Of Your Leave’ is another meditative reflection on the passing of Dave Le’aupepe’s father, and features what Adrian Spinelli describes for Uproxx as ‘thumping drums, beautiful strings and Le’aupepe’s energetic delivery. pope [that] present the sound of a group of killers firing on all cylinders.

Let’s Eat Grandma – “Happy New Year”

two ribbons, Let’s Eat Grandma’s new album, isn’t out until April but they weren’t shy about giving us a taste of what to expect from the LP. “Happy New Year” is an example of the duo’s symbiotic relationship, though it was originally born out of a long rift between them that shines through in the song’s tension. “Luscious vocal textures give way to a jumping chorus, celebrating what it takes to make friendship work,” writes Adrian Spinelli for Uproxx.

Bonobo – “Of You” (feat. Joji)

While many of Bonobo’s compositions for the next album fragments are instrumental, there is an occasional guest spot on the track listing. Luckily for us, Joji was able to jump on the atmospheric track “From You”, laying down vocal lines that add to the sonic exploration of the track. The end product is what Adrian Spinelli describes for Uproxx as “a whirlwind number that plays into the album’s theme of yearning for a sense of normalcy amid the isolation of a global pandemic.”

Jana Horn – “Time Machine”

Jana Horn originally self-released her album Optimism in 2018, but now the album is getting a wider release in partnership with No Quarter Records. This is a good thing, because it gave us another opportunity to discover Horn’s beautiful esoteric composition. “Time Machine” is a minimal affair, built on a lightly strummed acoustic guitar and a single egg shaker, with some added harmonic flourishes.

Sasami – “Say it”

Last October, Sasami announced her upcoming genre-defying album, Press, promising a palette of sounds ranging from metal to folk pop. The album’s final offering, “Say It” has an industrial vibe, sounding more like Nine Inch Nails than Julien Baker. “The track opens with a basement club bang, before receding to let Sasami’s vocals take center stage as the flashing drum beat lingers,” writes Adrian Spinelli for Uproxx.

Why not – “CASKET ft. papa mbye”

The Minneapolis-based outfit Why Not was described to me by a friend as a “punk rock postal service (good sounds with the bloop beeps)” shared “Casket” earlier this week, which definitely fits that description . As I’ve written about artists like Kississippi in the past, it’s always exciting to hear a band like this, with deep roots in DIY/punk, but with a vision that goes way beyond- beyond the confines of the local basement scene. Keep an eye on Why not.

Young Guv – “It’s Only Dancin”

Every new track from Young Guv’s upcoming album, VGU III, is just as fun and full of energy. “It’s Only Dancin” sounds like a lo-fi take on Cheap Trick and The Cars, which means the melodies are infectious, the choruses are massive, and there’s a great guitar solo. If you’re not on the Young Guv bandwagon yet, you’re going to be left behind!

Some artists covered here are Warner Music artists. Uproxx is an independent subsidiary of Warner Music Group.


About Author

Comments are closed.