Best New Indie Music This Week: My Chemical Romance


Indie music has grown to include so many things. It’s not just music that comes out on independent labels, but speaks to an aesthetic that deviates from the norm and follows its own quirky heart. This can take the form of rock, pop or folk music. In a way, that says as much about the people who are drawn to it as it is about the people who make it.

Every week, Uproxx rounds up the best new indie music from the past seven days. This week we received new music from The Black Keys, My Chemical Romance, Florence + The Machine, and more.

While we’re at it, sign up for our newsletter to get the best new indie music straight to your inbox, every Monday.

The black keys – abandonment boogie

Back for the first time since last year’s covers album Delta KreamThe Black Keys deliver another classic project with the groovy LP abandonment boogie. Infused with irresistible ’70s funk rock, rockabilly chords and soulful choruses, the 10-track album shows that modern rock ‘n’ roll is still going strong.

Smile – A light to attract attention

While Radiohead fans await the band’s next release, The Smile, the new band featuring Thom Yorke, Johnny Greenwood and Tom Skinner, have released their captivating debut album A light to attract attention. Yorke’s signature tenor is at the forefront of this album, layering cascading melodies over choppy beats and ethereal synths to create standout tracks like “Free In The Knowledge” and “Skrting On The Surface.”

Florence + The Machine — dance fever

Almost four years after the group’s last album high as hopeFlorence + The Machine Make A Triumphant Return With Their Shimmering Effort dance fever. Inspired by the euphoria of movement, Welch’s impressive vocal range is on full display, swinging between thundering bass on tracks like “King” and confident highs on “Dream Girl Evil” and “My Love.”

Kevin Morby — This is a photograph

Ever-prolific Kansas City songwriter Kevin Morby has released his dazzling album This is a photograph this week, inspired by a particularly impactful family trip he took to visit his ailing father in Memphis. Pastoral and free-flowing, Kevin’s seventh studio album is an ode to country living, the fleeting nature of life, and the importance of cherishing friends and family. It’s filled with both soulful ballads like “Disappearing” and energetic numbers like the title track, highlighting Morby’s versatile songwriting.

Say Sue Me — The last thing left

South Korean indie quartet Say Sue Me released their quaint and atmospheric album The last thing left. Written at a moving time after the death of the band’s friend and drummer, the album translates reflections on loss and life into 10 delicate tracks. “This album is about a certain realization, possibly the realization of love,” said vocalist/guitarist Sumi Choi. “Love in relationships, love for yourself, and the ultimate love gained after achieving these two things!”

My Chemical Romance – “The Basics of Decomposition”

MCR fans, rejoice! The band just returned with “The Foundations Of Decay,” their first new song since 2014. The six-minute track starts slow before a cascade of fuzzy guitars arrives, pretty much exactly what fans were hoping for in the eight years since their last song. About the track, bassist Mikey Way even said that the song was his “favorite My Chemical Romance song of all time”.

Bartees Strange – “Hold the Line”

After ushering in a new musical era with the announcement of a single and an album, Bartees Strange continues to preview his next LP From farm to table with the laid-back ballad “Hold The Line”. Armed with soulful lyrics and twang-soaked guitar chords, “Hold The Line” shows another side of Strange’s multifaceted artistry.

Stella Donnelly – “Lungs”

Australian singer Stella Donnelly quickly became an independent favorite with her 2019 debut album Beware of dogs. With her honeyed vocals and booming production, Donnelly’s new track “Lungs” hints at what should be another major effort on her upcoming LP. Flood.

Julia Jacklin – “Lydia Carries a Cross”

Saw that Julia Jacklin’s latest album Crushing landed at #34 in the 2019 Uproxx Music Critics Poll, the announcement of their latest album Pre pleasure is more than welcome. “Lydia Wears A Cross” arrived as Jacklin’s debut single this week, showing off her penchant for serious ballads. “The song is about a lot of things, but mostly about a 7-year-old Jesus Christ Superstar fanatic attending a Catholic school trying to figure out what the way forward is,” Jacklin said of the new single.

Black Midi – “Welcome to Hell”

British trio Black Midi have made a name for themselves not only with their buttoned-up stage presence, but the band continue to release inventive and conceptual projects on a regular basis. Following on from last year Cavalcade album, Black Midi announces the next LP Hellfire, which they describe as their most thematically cohesive album to date. The first single, aptly titled “Welcome To Hell”, features the band’s signature propulsive guitar and a deadpan lyrical delivery, detailing the perspective of a demobilized soldier.

Miloé – “Elastic”

Congolese-American indie rocker Miloe has been turning heads recently with his sunny music. “Elastic” is his latest light track, with a floating chorus and infectious beat that showcases Miloe’s intimate songwriting.

Some of the artists covered here are Warner Music artists. Uproxx is an independent subsidiary of Warner Music Group.


About Author

Comments are closed.